SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.22 issue4Estudio epidemiológico de una población expuesta laboralmente a plomoPigmenturia e injuria renal aguda luego de percusión intensa de tambor author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand



Related links


Revista Médica del Uruguay

On-line version ISSN 1688-0390


LEBORGNE, Felix; AGUIAR, Sergio; MEZZERA, Julieta  and  LEBORGNE, José H. Irradiación posprostatectomía radical: Confirmación de resultados preliminares previos. Rev. Méd. Urug. [online]. 2006, vol.22, n.4, pp.293-298. ISSN 1688-0390.

Summary The results of radiotherapy after radical prostatectomy for adenocarcinoma of the prostate were reviewed. One hundred thirty one consecutive patients treated from 1994 through 2004 were analysed. Thirty eight patients received adjuvant radiotherapy due to high risk factors for local recurrence following surgery, and 93 patients received postoperative irradiation for biochemical failure after prostatectomy (59 of these patients had also a palpable recurrence in the pelvis). The five-year actuarial free survival from biochemical failure, cause specific survival and overall survival were 90%, 100% and 97% for patients treated with adjuvant radiotherapy, and 65%, 95% and 90% for those treated with salvage radiotherapy, respectively. In this latter group, when no hormone therapy was added to irradiation, the finding of a decline in their PSA levels at 50 Gy showed a trend towards an improved biochemical control. Late urinary complications after radiotherapy were more frequent than those observed after radical radiotherapy alone as primary treatment. The results of the present study confirm trends observed in a previous preliminary publication.

Keywords : Neoplasmas de próstata [ radioterapia].

        · abstract in Spanish | French | Portuguese     · text in Spanish     · Spanish ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License